When it’s grey in L.A. (pt. 2)

You cook. You get lost in the smells of your kitchen.  You take random ingredients and combine them to create new, heavenly gastronomies.  Today I baked a yellow butter cake with chocolate icing for my friend Hemke’s birthday tonight.  I can’t afford to get him a gift so I baked.  While the cake was cooling and the icing hardening in the fridge, I made a tomato and basil egg-white omelette with the discarded egg whites from the cake recipe.  I topped it with salt and pepper and some shaved smoked gouda cheese.  Waste not, want not.

Tonight, before the birthday party, my friend Emily is coming over for dinner and I am making sweet potato, carrot, and ginger soup with quinoa cornbread and a spinach salad with goat cheese, candied walnuts, and dried cranberries.  I truly love these rainy days.  They are so therapeutic.  I hope you are enjoying your day, no matter what the weather is where you are.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

