Weekend Update

Saturday was rather productive.  I went on a hike, had a great lunch with my great friend Emily, cleaned the house, and made chicken stock.  I love making chicken stock on cleaning day because it has to bubble for about 4 hours and the entire house fills with that beautiful smell as you clean.  All you do is throw left over chicken parts, I use the bones and giblets of the chicken I roasted last week (just freeze it all in a big bag), left over veggies like carrots, celery, asparagus, garlic cloves, and herbs.  During the week i just take the very middle of the celery, the parts of veggies I cut off, and whatever I haven’t used for cooking and put it in my “stock bag,” then I add whatever herbs and I have.  This time I threw in some thyme, parsley, and whole pepper corns.  Some people put the herbs in a container to keep them separate, but I don’t have one, so I just throw it all in.  Fill the large stock pot with enough cold water to cover all the veggies and bring it all to a boil.  Once it is boiling, turn it down to a simmer and leave it for about 4 hours.  Strain out the veggies and either freeze or refrigerate depending on when you want to use it.  I separate it into little bags of a cup each, that way I can thaw per recipe.  You can use stock for just about anything.  I boil rice in it, cook kale in it, and it is also an all natural cure-all inside of soups and sauces.  With all that healthy fat and minerals that come from the organs and bones, it is so good for your immune system 🙂 

I also went on a date on Saturday night.  Yup, a date.  It was super fun and he took me to a restaurant I have been dying to try in Silverlake, Barbrix.  The stand outs of the meal were definitely the saffron arancini, stuffed with smoked mozzarella and the seared sea scallops with yogurt dill sauce.  Not far behind was the treviso salad.  With grapefruit and shaved manchego the flavors were crisp and downright brilliant.  Seriously one of the best salads I have ever tasted.  We finished the meal with the chocolate creme brulee, which was also epic.  Although I would have loved to bring you pics from the entire meal, it was dark and I didn’t want to embarrass anyone.  So here is the menu and the creme brulee.  If you live in LA and love food and wine, Barbrix is definately worth trying out.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Weekend Update

Leave a Reply

