Fear of Falling (two down, infinate number to go)

Alright, I did it!  I survived my first improv show.  Improv 101 at Upright Citizens Brigade is over.  There were some good times, there were some bad…but all in all, I am damn proud of myself!  I entitled this blog “Fear of Falling” because I was afraid of falling on my face. (And I was reprising the “overcoming my fears blog” from last summer)  But I did not fall on my face.  I trusted the process, I stepped out, and my teammates took care of me as I did them.  This stuff they teach actually works!  Next up, improv 210 on Thursday nights starting this week.  I am so excited!  This level focuses on “game” the entire time.  The game of the scene is hard to explain, in my opinion.  Now, seeing that I don’t totally understand it myself, I’m not sure if I’ll be the best person to explain, but i’m the only writer on this blog so my explaination will just have to do.  Here is a brief sentence that might clear it up.  Ask yourself the question “what is weird or strange in this scene?”  Then, “if that is true, what else could or would be true in this scenario?”  Now, “how can I heighten these circumstances?”  That is game.  That is about the best I can do at this point.  Finding the game is the trick to improv because once you know what the game is, you can join in and play the game, and that is really what it’s all about right?  Playing games…like a child.  Remember?  I mean how many times in our adult lives are we really given permission to just play?

After the show we all went over to one of my classmates houses in Venice.  On my way there, while I was in bumper to bumper traffic on the 101, I got an itch in my nose.  Since I am sick and have been for the last 3 days, my sneezes are extra big and seem to be coming in packs.  I sneezed, my eyes were forced shut for probably 3 seconds, and when I opened them to try and recover, I slammed on my brakes but it was too late.  I rear ended the guy in front of me.  We slowly made our way to the shoulder to discuss what our actions would be and I did something that I don’t often do.  I prayed.  Hard.  Loud.  Repeatedly.  He got out, took a look at his bumper, tapped it a couple of times, and then declared… “das ok.”  “Really?”  I asked.  “Yah, yah, das ok.”  “Thank you sir,”  I thankfully replied and got back in my car, beaming with joy.  I made it to Jonathan’s exactly one hour later and could really only stay an hour or so.  I was really hungry and wasn’t feeling great.  On the way home I called a friend I hadn’t seen in a while and we decided to go for dinner.  Nothing like an incredible meal to make me feel better.  We met at Firefly and sat in the bar.  I had the best steak tartare I have ever tasted in my life (seriously people, this dish is epic!!) and was able to stay awake because Nick is so entertaining.  As soon as I got home I crashed and slept 12 much needed hours.  Here are a couple of pics from the restaurant.  You can see so well thanks to the amazing flash on the iphone…

Oh and I almost forgot to tell you.  On Thursday, my friend Katie Hines and I took a little road trip about an hour and a half north of the city of angles to Lancaster, a place that seemed to be straight out of a Steven King novel, to see our friend Alec James in the tour of Cabaret.  The show was great, one of the best emcee’s ive ever seen, and then we went to Denny’s and trashed it up over pancakes, sausage, and hash browns.  SO fun! 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

