Cold Snap

It is abnormally chilly today and my plans to babysit fell through, so I have a little time on my hands.   And what do I want to do?  Cook.  Since its chilly and I have two large containers of chicken stock that I made over the weekend, I am going to make soup.  Nothing new, just my usual ground beef stew.  Except I used chicken stock today because I don’t have any homemade beef stock and I prefer to use homemade.  We will see how it goes.  It’s super easy, here is what I do:

Brown 3/4lb of grass-fed beef.  Add it to a large pot full of 3 1/2 c. of beef stock (beef is best but chicken will work too), 2 c. of water, and veggies.  I use 1 medium potato cubed, 2 medium onions, 3 celery stalks, 2 large carrots, 1 c. of green beans, 1 c. of frozen peas, 1 c. of frozen butterbeans (lima beans), 1 can of diced tomatoes (undrained), and corn cut from two corn cobs; but again, whatever veggies sound good to you.  Season with 2 tsp. of dried tarragon, 1 tbsp. fresh, minced parsley, 1 tbsp. of garlic powder, 1/2 tsp. of salt, and 1/8 tsp. of pepper.  Bring it all to boil, lower heat, and cover and simmer for 30 mins or until veggies are tender. 

If I am serving this for friends I like to make Paula Dean’s sweet potato cornbread or a traditional sweet cornbread.  It’s especially good if you grease the pan with bacon grease or butter so that it browns and crisps on the edges 🙂

How is everyone feeling?  I have been a little down lately.  Not really sure why.  I hear there is something going on with the planets and that everyone is going through “stuff” right now.  More on that later.  Just curious if anyone else is feeling like they are navigating dark waters?

I am going to King King in Hollywood tonight for a show called “Mortified.”  It’s a live reading and performance of childhood and teenage journals, backed by live music.  At least, this is how I understand it.  I have never seen it, so ill have to get back to you on the exact structure.  Maybe, for the evening, it will help me focus on something besides my own “stuff.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

