Sleepy Saturday

Today has been a lazy day for me.  I just can’t seem to wake up.  I had some tea this morning and did some reading.  Well more than some, before i knew it, it was 1:30.  So i made some lunch and tried to get motivated to work on my monologues, but i still felt so tired.  I layed down with my dog next to me, and fell asleep reciting the lines to her.  Now i’m awake again.  I made a fruit smoothie and am trying to get my mind on the right page.  Did i not sleep last night or am i just being lazy?  Trying not to feel guilty, i remember the recent words of a good friend:  The body never lies to you.  At first i wanted to protest.  “Well, my nerves make me feel close to sick when i get in the audition room and if it were up to my body, i would just run out of there, give up.  But I know i don’t want to do that, so i stay.”  But, after further discussion, i agree with him.  You body will not lie to you.  The way your mind interprets the feelings you have is where you get into touble.  But the body, purely, and simply always tells the truth.  It may not be a truth you want to hear, but it is the truth nonetheless.  So maybe i needed the sleep.  Working on these pieces isn’t supposed to be a chore.  When i feel ready, i will work, and i wont feel guilty about giving my body what it is obviously crying out for.  I will keep my heart center and listen to my body.

Do you agree?  Share an experience with me…

Baking always makes me feel a sense of accomplishment, so i will leave you with a delightful cookie recipe i discovered the other day.  These are the perfect light cookie to snack on with some tea, while working and getting things done 🙂  I just love the red, jam in the middle…it reminds me of my heart center. 

Heart Center Cookies

  • 1/2 c. butter, softened
  • 1/4 c. packed, brown sugar
  • 1 egg, separated (save both parts)
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 c. all purpose flour
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 c. finely chopped walnuts
  • 2/3 any flavor fruit jam (jam works best)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and grease cookie sheets with butter.  In a medium sized bowl cream butter, sugar and egg YOLK.  Add vanilla, flour and salt mixing well.  Shape the dough into balls, roll in egg white and then walnuts.  Place on cookie sheets about 2 in. apart and bake 5 minutes.  Take them out and with your thumb if it isnt to hot, or a small spoon, make a little reserve in the middle to fill with jam.  Bake another 8-12 minutes depending on desired firmness of cookie, i like them a litte crunchy.  Oh and you don’t have to use a red jam, i just think it’s pretty.  I also used apricot and they were delicious too.

I hope you a great weekend!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

